We keep three hours of devotion to remember when Jesus hung on the tree.

For the first hour we use the liturgy, of which there are four parts:

The Ministry of the Word

The solemn reading of Old Testament and New Testament readings as well hearing Psalm 22 lead us to the climax of this part of the service; St John’s Passion.

The Proclamation of the Cross

They shall look on him whom they pierced. After hearing the Passion there is an opportunity to respond to the reality of the cross. There are many ways of doing this. The cross is placed prominently and people invited to venerate it according to their custom. This may be by touching or kissing the cross or simply kneeling and bowing before it.

The Intercessions

Having placed ourselves at the foot of the cross, the gathered community joins in praying for the whole world. These intercessions are expansive in their concern.

The Holy Communion

The events of the Last Supper are fresh in our minds, when Jesus shared with his disciples the Last Supper. Now at the cross his broken body and outpoured blood is offered to us that we might proclaim his death until he comes. We use the consecrated elements from Maundy Thursday.


The final two hours consist of meditation, hymns and addresses.

Holy Week and Easter

[ai1ec post_id=”2452,2408,2409,1900,2411″]